The Big 4 – Fireman Sam Party

13 Aug

Hi peeps. Apologies if I’ve been AWOL this past week, but my pride and joy finally turned the big 4 on Saturday and I’ve been somewhat distracted putting the finishing touches to his beast of a birthday party. In fact I don’t think I’d be exaggerating if i said that planning my wedding was easier.

So cast your minds back a few months when I appealed on bended knee for some inspiration to create my demanding little dude a birthday to remember. Well you lovely folks put forward your ideas, and the lightbulb in my cavernous brain finally lit up. I was going to plan a Fireman Sam themed party for my fire engine mad monster.

So off I scurried trawling t’internet (god bless Netmums, Google and Pinterest) for venues, suppliers, materials and tips to create a party befitting of a boy who for many reasons has had a less than perfect year.

Well, it’s been two months in the making and I’ve shed more than the odd bead of sweat, but here’s how it went down:

My first and most important aim for this Fireman Sam party was to have a real fire engine. At first I didn’t know such a thing was possible, after all one might assume that fireman are a tad busy fighting fires and rescuing cats from trees to be entertaining children at parties. Well I was right, they are! But but but, my resourceful mother tipped me off that it was possible to hire a non active fire engine for parties.

I found two companies based in Essex but serving London who catered for children’s parties. They were both difficult to contact, but by now you know I’m a persistent little devil and eventually my efforts paid off and the fire engine was booked. So from now on, the rest of the party would revolve around this not insignificant centre piece.

Next came venue. Finding a location that would host a real fire engine with REAL water squirting hoses, wasn’t easy. I searched community centres, scout huts, sports clubs and purpose built party venues. Some were discounted due to lack of parking for the fire engine and some were downright overpriced! After an exasperating search I resigned myself to hosting at home AGAIN, but was nervous about the reliability of the British “summer” weather. So imagine my delight when I found a sports hall called The Centre in South Oxhey, who not only had availability, they were cheap, had a big car park and two free bouncy castles! Hell it would cost me more to hold it at home!

So that was the venue and main attractions booked. Now let’s get to the day itself.

When all the guests arrived, they had 1 hour on the impressive bouncy castles.

image

I also booked a face painter who offered the children Fireman Sam themed faces as well as the usual ones. Oscar went for Radar, Fireman Sam’s rescue dog.

image

I also bought some themed metallic balloons for decoration (a fire engine, Fireman Sam and a giant “4”) which we filled with helium and tied to some balloon weights in a cascade which could be moved easily from room to room.

For fun I also blew up some normal balloons and scattered them on the floor, which of course the kids enjoyed throwing and kicking.

Once the first hour was over, the castles were deflated and we moved into the second hall for food.

We decorated the food table in red covers, added some Fireman Sam themed stickers I made via MOO print, some Fire engine confetti and Fireman Sam themed napkins, cups and plates.

I bought red and orange “Fruit Shoot” drinks to look like fire, and made “Fireman’s Food” which consisted of a strawberry, grape and blueberry fruit salad, sandwiches for the kids, wraps for the adults, crisps, muffins, and pastries. I completed the display with the Fireman Sam cake and matching cupcakes.

image

image

Once the children had devoured the food, we sang the obligatory “Happy Birthday” to the boy while he blew the candle out on his cake.

Now the kids were full, out came a fire engine piñata and the Fireman’s hoses (made from long modelling balloons). The kids whacked the hell out of the piñata (and my dad’s hands a fair few times), and waved the hoses about like heros.

image

While they were distracted the fireman sneaked in.

Once the piñata was destroyed, the sweets fell to the floor and the children swarmed like a pack of vultures.

The fireman crept up to Oscar and introduced himself.

image
We then asked the children if they wanted to go outside and see the fire engine. “YES!!!!”

So out we went to look at the fire engine. The fireman then taught each child (and a fair few adults) to have a go squirting the hose.
image

Every child had a go each, which lasted at least 30 minutes, and then all the children got into the back and the fireman took them out for a ride round and sounded the sirens.
image

A few children (and yet more adults) chose to go out in the fire engine for a second time. While they were away, the remaining children were occupied by a game of “Pin the tail on Radar the fire dog” kindly made by my brilliant friend, but anyone with a steady hand could recreate this by drawing free hand.

image
Finally, just as the children were ready to leave, I handed out “Fireman’s Water Buckets” instead of party bags. I made these using some cheap red buckets, blue tissue paper for water, and some more Fireman Sam stickers made via MOO print. I thought these were a different idea and gave the kids something to use after the contents were all used.

image

So how did it go? I can honestly say I haven’t a clue as, much like my wedding, I spent the entire event running around like a blue arsed fly trying to ensure everyone else was entertained. So much so I couldn’t stand up by the end of it. In fact I needed that lovely fireman to carry me to the car.

I think the children had fun, I hope so. And I hope the parents had just a smidgen of fun also.

As for Oscar, I think he was overawed. So overawed he literally weed himself. I’ll take that as a compliment.

Just hoping he doesn’t expect another one until he’s 21.

14 Responses to “The Big 4 – Fireman Sam Party”

  1. Coombe Mill (Fiona) (@coombemill) August 18, 2013 at 6:55 am #

    Sounds like you have him a wonderful party. Those cakes all look amazing

    • ferreroroche123 August 18, 2013 at 6:58 am #

      Thanks. It was hard work, but I think they had a good time. Hoping it can inspire some ideas in other mummies looking for party ideas. There is a distinct lack of fireman sam party ideas on the web!

  2. Rasika November 8, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

    What an effort. My son loves fireman sam and fire engines. Atleast once a week we have to take him to our local fire station for a visit. It’s his birthday in a month, how do I go about booking a fire engine?

    Thanks

    • ferreroroche123 November 9, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

      Thank you. Just google fire engine limos. They should show some companies that usually have limos serving lots of counties.

  3. Cassie November 11, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

    Hi ferreroroche123,
    I love your cake and am trying to work out a design for my son’s 4th birthday cake. Would you mind telling me what cutters you used for your flame border? They look like some sort of leaf cutters but I can’t seem to find the same. Thanks

    • ferreroroche123 November 11, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

      I’m afraid I commissioned the cake from a cake maker, so I don’t know what cutters she used, but yes, they do look like leaf shapes.

  4. Stacey February 27, 2014 at 2:39 pm #

    Hi by chance I have come across this post as I was searching fireman ideas etc as thats the yheme i am doing fot my boys bday.. and I’m actually having the bouncy castle party at the south oxhey centre believe it or not that it’s the same place you had yours… Just wondering what the company’s you hired the fire engine were and numbers if poss and any price ideas they were please?

    Thanks Stacey

    • ferreroroche123 February 27, 2014 at 3:00 pm #

      It was Blazing Squad, but if you google fire engine limos you should find a few that can quote you. Thanks for reading and enjoy the party!

  5. Valerie December 27, 2014 at 7:59 pm #

    Where did you buy your buckets how long did they take to come

    • ferreroroche123 December 27, 2014 at 9:07 pm #

      Just from a party website. Google fireman Sam party supplies or similar. They showed up within a couple of days.

  6. Kim February 8, 2015 at 5:26 pm #

    love yiur ideas! Especially the cakes, would you mind telling me which cake maker you ordered your cakes from?

    • ferreroroche123 February 8, 2015 at 5:33 pm #

      Thanks. I used “Cakes by Amanda” who is based in my local area.

  7. Larene March 7, 2017 at 9:02 pm #

    Where did you get the little Sam’s figure for the cake?

Leave a comment

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.