A week in pictures

13 Jul

I haven’t written much over the past six months.

Life has been so stressful, chaotic and tough, I have neither had the time nor the desire to write.

But last week, I felt that twang again.

The weather took a turn for the better, we saw a glimmer of sun, and through sheer coincidence I was able to make the most of it.

In that sun, I had the privilege to see the astonishingly diverse beauty this country has to offer. And whilst my photography leaves much to be desired, I feel my week in pictures conveys more than my words ever could.

On Sunday, we took the boys for a picnic and a walk around Virginia Water Lake in Surrey. After all of the cocktail sausages had been scoffed, we started our circuit. First we passed the hidden Cascade waterfall:

Then we headed off around the lake to find a suitable patch for a game of football:

 

imageimageimage

 

After taking advantage of the ice cream van, we pushed on round, the boys on wheels, and my husband and I on foot. The scenery was breath taking. I don’t think any photo could truly capture the emotion I felt as I took in the stunning beauty of nature along with the man made buildings:

As we reached the halfway point, the boys began to complain they were getting tired. I’m not surprised, their little legs had covered almost 2.5 miles and I was starting to flag. But with half the route to go, we had only one option…. to keep going! We picked up the pace, and sped around the second half, through the gardens, up the hill, and down to the totem pole, marking the end.

By the time we made it back to the car, we were hot, sweaty, hungry and exhausted, but God I felt good.

By the Tuesday, my legs had recovered and I was off to Sandbanks in Poole for a work event. Unbeknown to me, we were staying in a hotel directly on the sandy beach, and as the sun shone again, I was reminded just why I miss my beach holidays abroad so much.

imageimageimage

When the conference finished on Wednesday afternoon, I was so sad to be leaving. But with the sun shining, it was hard to be down for long.

On the Thursday, my work took me to an event in the Kensington Roof Gardens in London. What a stunning venue! And so hard to believe that such a landscape could be hidden on a roof in the middle of Kensington High Street.

imageimageimageimageimageimage

After good food, good drink, and a thought provoking afternoon of presentations, I hit the sales to spend some quality time shopping alone for the first time in I don’t know when.

So after such a nourishing week, my soul feels fired up again, and I feel re-invigorated and ready to deal with what the next few months ahead has in store for our family. More on that to come soon.

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

