When things go right – A Sunny Sunday

21 Sep

Today I just had to write. Because today was so rare.

It was just so right. And I’m buzzing.

The last few weeks have been shitty. So so shitty at home.

Since my biggest boy has gone back to school, his behaviour has again deteriorated dramatically at home. His tolerance for the smallest of requests has plummeted and we have once more become his literal and metaphorical punch bag.

The evenings and weekends have been tough. I’ve screamed myself hoarse out of sheer frustration at times as our previous strategies have failed and meltdowns have again become an everyday event.

I know I’ve messed up now and then and been a frightful grump, but it’s hard to think clearly when chaos crowds your judgement. The screaming, the throwing, the punching, the growling… it drives me to distraction.

But today was different.

Today was such fun.

The weather was on our side and we took full advantage.

A trip to Hyde Park. One of my favourite hang outs.

Sure, coaxing the big little man to get ready was a challenge. He couldn’t help but avoid. But I was ready with ideas, and he can rarely resist a race. So off we ran.

Once we arrived at the park, the under 3’s play area was our first destination. A treat for the littlest boy, with big bro as guardian and playmate.

imageimage

Next, the pirate ship. Sun and sand.

image image

Then over to the other side – ice creams and ice lollies for the journey.

A race along the Serpentine…..

image

A wander through the trees……

image

A roll on the grass

image

and an adventure in the playground.

image image

Smiles and laughter from my eldest and squeals of joy from the youngest.

Calm contentment filled my soul.

I felt alive, I felt free, I felt like a family.

Of course the meltdowns resurfaced at bedtime. It was inevitable. But they pale into insignificance when compared to those 4 precious hours where we all got it right.

And for that, I feel good.

One Response to “When things go right – A Sunny Sunday”

  1. Aly September 21, 2015 at 7:41 pm #

    Lovely post, darling. Love to you all.

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

