Month 3: Baby steps forward

3 Nov

Month 3 was the month my baby boy found his expressions. Expressions of smiles, giggles and wonder. I could watch them all day, I mean you would wouldn’t you? Just look at him:

image

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m biased, I know. But god I feel blessed.

Month 3 was also a month of constant fist chewing and side effects from his ongoing medication. Side effects such as vomitting from too much Omeprazole, screaming all day from too little Omeprazole, and refusing bottles due to bloating from too much Gaviscon. So much of the month has been consumed with adjusting medication doses. I did visit the paediatrician who advised us on possible new doses, but to be honest, I know Leo so well now that I have found my own way when it comes to balancing his reflux symptoms and his medication side effects. And when I get it right, I get plenty of this:

image

More smiles!

Finally, I made my first visit to work to show off my boy to my colleagues. It was, well, weird.

I suppose it would be after 9 months away.

It was great to see the people I know so well, but scary to see so many I didn’t know filling the familiar desks in the office. The world moves on so quickly without you, it’s easy to feel out of place.

Leo of course behaved himself, and did, I think, win over my colleagues with his abundance of smiles.

I also feel that finally, ever so slowly, my eldest boy is beginning to accept his new role in the family. That of big brother. After the first two almost unbearable months of tantrums and attention seeking, he is embracing the task of helping me care for his little bro, and is learning to amuse himself at times.

 

image

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So for this month, I will tentatively report that we are finding our way…… for now, one baby step at a time.

One Response to “Month 3: Baby steps forward”

  1. Tara November 3, 2014 at 1:55 pm #

    Awww love baby smiles 🙂 I was always amazed that, despite being in a lot of pain with reflux, Freya smiled easily and often.

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

