My IVF Diary 3: Announcement – introducing baby Roche

8 Aug

It is with absolute overwhelming happiness that we announce the birth of Leo Gordon Christopher Roche.

Leo was born by c section on 21st July at 09.46am, weighing a healthy 7lb 15oz.

image

image

image

 

 

My recovery since the operation has been difficult, with an extended stay in hospital and some ongoing side effects back home.

Leo has himself faced some early difficulties with feeding, which have made our first few weeks more sleep deprived than hoped. However, currently on dairy free milk and anti reflux medication, he has begun to thrive and we are finally getting a few hours sleep!

image

 

Oscar is a proud and protective big brother who wants nothing more than to kiss the baby to death.

 

image

We must express our extreme gratitude to the staff at Boston Place Clinic, to whom we owe our successful ivf treatment. Their professionalism and care during a tumultuous time was outstanding, and to my consultant Anna Carby, I owe my life. She not only demonstrated an unquestionable level of medical expertise which gave me my children, but showed me a personal care and understanding throughout the journey which has rarely been equalled. I will never forget her.

And for every person who followed my diary, read a post, left comments of support or shared their own experience, I thank you. Every action was appreciated at the darkest of times.

To my husband – you have been the best
To my parents – you rock
To my son – thank you for accepting a mum who couldn’t play with you for so long

But this isn’t the end. Just the end of this journey and the start of a new.

As a mother of two boys, I know times are gonna get wild, so I look forward to my next blog posts as a fumbling, stumbling, occasionally grumbling second time mum.

Stay tuned.

To my baby Hope – never forgotten x

Post Comment Love

7 Responses to “My IVF Diary 3: Announcement – introducing baby Roche”

  1. Kay Cugini August 8, 2014 at 1:21 pm #

    *snuffles a tear* so happy for you all, hes so gorgeous! Oz will be the best big brother 🙂 after everything you have all been through to get to this point I am in awe of your huge courage and determination and we are chuffed to bits that Leo is here safe – Sons rock! ;-)) hope to see you all soon when you feel up to being inundated! Lots of love xxxx ps bet your dad is smiling fit to burst at his name check :-)) A’s dad was so happy to have his name in there with Luca I know xxxxxxx

  2. Jen August 8, 2014 at 5:15 pm #

    Congratulations, he’s beautiful!

  3. Celine August 8, 2014 at 6:23 pm #

    congrats!

  4. Michelle Davis August 9, 2014 at 7:57 am #

    So, so happy for you all! X

  5. Charly Dove August 9, 2014 at 10:08 am #

    Huge congratulations to all of you – especially you. Leo is gorgeous. Hope you’re all doing alright xx

  6. Phil Spencer August 14, 2014 at 7:11 pm #

    Fantastic news as we have followed your story for a long time. You have given my wife and I hope to battle on the realise our dream.
    I think I could write a book of the highs and lows we have experienced during IVF, when we lost a baby girl Ella on December the 26th our world was torn apart.
    We pray to stay strong and continue to fill a void in our world, we will never replace Ella and continue to be inspired by people like yourself that our dreams can be realised.

    Congratulations and enjoy the most amazing gift.
    Phil & Karen X X
    UK

    • ferreroroche123 August 14, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

      Thank you so much for following and for your kind words of support. We are indeed extremely grateful to have our new addition home safe after such a long journey. I will never forget all we went through to get there, including the loss of our second baby (Hope) at 9 weeks pregnant but have nothing but gratitude that we were lucky enough to achieve a successful outcome this time.

      I am very sorry to hear of your loss and wish you and your wife continued courage and luck that you too will be successful in achieving your family one day.

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

