My IVF Diary 3: 23-24 weeks pregnant

19 Jun

23 weeks: Hard week this week. Not really feeling any second trimester blooming right now.

Experiencing debilitating ligament pain every time I move. Even struggling to lie down without terrible pulling pains on each side. My bump also feels like it is stretched to breaking point. I wouldn’t mind, but it’s not even that big and I’ve got a long way to go, so dread to think how much worse it’ll get.

I’m struggling to get around in the house which is making my mood low and the time drag. Since the hematoma stopped bleeding, I have stopped receiving additional help at home from my family as they are working. However, I am at increased risk of premature labour so can’t get out of the house and the discomfort prevents me moving around the house much.

Add to that the regular pregnancy ailment of constant indigestion coupled with non stop hunger and I’m an immobile, non sleeping, ravenous, nauseous, tablet riddled grump, prone to regular emotional outbursts.

See…. No second trimester glow here.

It’s fair to say that my two boys are conspiring against me too. The boy in my tummy is kicking harder that ever. I feel like a punch bag much of the time and it’s not helping any. I try to smile through and welcome the reassurance, but f*ck me, I could do with a little less brut force right now.

Meanwhile, my boy on the outside is tantrumming out of control this week. I’ve always thought he had a temper, but he has seriously stepped it up a notch with screaming, hitting, throwing and general destruction occurring at the slightest cue. Maybe he’s starting to feel the strain of the changes ahead, maybe he’s just being a 4 year old brat, but either way it’s not easing my woes.

I just need to focus on getting to next week. Focus, focus, focus.

By the Saturday my mood has improved as I am due a private scan to check on the hematoma and baby. I don’t have another scan or appointment at my hospital until 28 weeks, which is too long to be in the dark so I am hoping this interim scan will ease my mind. The scan is quick and straight forward. Baby is growing right on track. He isn’t much ahead of his dates now, but is keeping up with the norm measurements for his gestation. The fly in the ointment is the ominous presence of the stubborn hematoma. I’m so disappointed, it really should have gone by now. It’s obviously as bloody minded as me. Just as well my baby is equally as strong willed and continues to stick two fingers up to the invader. I may not be grateful of it when he’s doing the same to me in a few years, but right now it’s that fight and determination that has allowed him to stay there despite the complications. My smile returns when the sonographer takes another peak at the boy in 4d. My god he has changed! Still a little scrawny, but his features are really starting to show.

I am pleased to see he looks a little like me… If I were an old man. But he’s a beauty.

image

 

6/4/14: 23 weeks 6 days. Feeling anxious. Just want the day to be over and to wake up tomorrow already.

Week 24: Viability day!

Endured a totally sleepless night, full of braxton hicks, but we made it. Today my baby is officially viable and must be treated if born premature. As if to signal his approval, baby is more active than ever. His kicks frequent and so strong.

I’m excited, but immediately shift my focus to a new 28 week milestone. If this little fella is viable, I want him to have the best odds of survival, and every hospital and consultant marks 28 weeks as a key date for this.

In the meantime, I’m getting big and am fearfully awaiting the arrival of stretch marks. In my first pregnancy, I escaped with none until 40 weeks exactly, and then it was just a few. Somehow, at this rate, I don’t expect to get away so lightly. My skin doesn’t have much further to go. Still, I’m slapping on every cream I can find in an attempt to ward the Freddie Kruger effect off.

I celebrated viability week by purchasing the nursery furniture and choosing the fabric for baby’s curtains, which my wonderful friend has agreed to make for me.

On the Sunday a group of old friends come to visit me. I’m grateful for the company, but am fretting over feeling fat and wide in everything. My belly may be popping, but my hips are widening at twice the speed, so the cute maternity dresses that only a few weeks ago looked flattering and funky, now look tight and obscene And I can’t even get into my maternity trousers! For a laugh I decide instead to try on a non maternity bodycon dress. I think I look like a pregnant prostitute, but my husband is very complementary (whilst stifling several sniggers over the size of my bump).

image

My sudden growth might be explained by this weeks craving for all things Mexican! I cannot get enough quesadillas, fajitas and cheese!

Post Comment Love
4 Responses to “My IVF Diary 3: 23-24 weeks pregnant”

  1. Zena's Suitcase (@zenas_suitcase) June 20, 2014 at 7:52 am #

    Your bump looks amazing! I’m sorry your having a pretty hard time, my pregnancy wasn’t full of glow either so I have every sympathy for you. It will all be worth it in the end and I hope things get a little easier for you #pocolo

    • ferreroroche123 June 20, 2014 at 7:57 am #

      Thank you. Every week gets easier and closer to the end, so I am embracing it!

  2. TwinsplusTwo June 20, 2014 at 4:18 pm #

    4D scans are amazing – we had a 4D video of our IVF twins at 23 weeks 🙂 The ligament pain is awful, I found the Next fold over trousers folded under to support my bump were fab. Stretchy material – they might not do them now. Thanks for linking up! #PoCoLo

  3. Mary Little July 7, 2014 at 12:05 pm #

    Its great to know that you are doing all better now the photos you shared are nice and you look great too. good luck

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

