My IVF Diary 3 – 19 weeks pregnant

29 May

Week 19

5/3/14 – I “think” the stomach bug has subsided finally. I am managing to eat again without instant stomach cramps, but OH, the indigestion! I feel sick most of the day and am only able to sleep vertical. Even the slightest recline and I immediately feel the wave of nausea engulf me. My chest burns, and eating has become a frequent hazard.

I’ve started on the over the counter antacids, but am not feeling much relief.

The boy is now in full wriggle mode, which is so reassuring, but is not helping my nausea any. Also new this week is the weight! I don’t feel my bump is growing at all. To me, it still looks broadly the same size as it has been for the past 4 weeks, just a little higher up, but the weight of it when I sit down has suddenly become uncomfortable. When reclining, the pressure on my insides is unpleasant, but when lying on my side, the weight on the muscles in my side is overwhelming and the nausea returns. I can’t believe I feel like this so early! I’m not even half way. I sense the second half of this pregnancy is going to be tough!

Thankfully, the bleeding has ceased for almost 2 weeks now and I’m praying that at my anomaly scan the hematoma will have gone and I can begin to resume some work and activity in a few weeks. I am still in great discomfort when I walk, but hopefully this will improve if the hematoma has healed.

7/3/14 – anomaly scan today and I’m nervous as hell.

I don’t know exactly why, I saw my boy two weeks ago and the sonographer said he is just fine, so there shouldn’t be any nasty surprises, he kicks me all day long, so I know he’s still in there, but I can’t help but feel this is kind of a big day.

I guess some of it relates to the status of the hematoma. All the doctors say they usually heal and disappear by about 20 weeks if they are going to. At 17+5 weeks it was shrinking, but still 4x3x2 cm approximately. That’s a lot to disappear in 2 weeks so I am nervous.

I guess if it is still there but hasn’t grown, or has maybe shrunk a little it isn’t the end of the world, maybe it will carry on shrinking and disappear by about 24 weeks, but the further I get through this second trimester, the more nervous I become of its ominous presence. So, today’s results will be kind of emotional.

12.15pm – I enter the scan room with the hubby and my mother in tow. The sonographer is a lovely lady. She laughs at my nervous jokes. She starts by taking a good look at the boy. For once he is in a shy mood, all curled up and refusing to give us a profile pic of his neat little face. But he is positioned sensibly for viewing all of his vital organs. First she measures his head, and two ventricles in his brain. Next she moves onto his heart. She spends some time viewing the four chambers and each of the connective tubes she calls the “plumbing”. All good so far. Then she measures his abdomen and views his stomach, kidneys and bladder, arms, hands, legs and feet. All present and correct. Phew.

Then she tries several different angles with the ultrasound probe to attempt a profile pic of little man. Eventually she gets what she is looking for and gives us a picture.

image

Finally, she begins her search for the hematoma. (Please be gone, please be gone). She searches the area above the cervix and can see nothing. Yes! But…… As she scans upwards, there on the side of the uterus was an obvious blob. I saw it immediately. Then she says something that leaves my mother, my hubby and I all gasping for breath…”did you know about this other one?”…”What? Not another one!”

Seeing our horror, she reviews the previous scan photos and after some thought decides that it is the same hematoma. But as the uterus has grown, it has moved the clot upwards away from the cervix and onto the left side of the uterus. Phew again.

She measures the hematoma to chart progress and disappointingly, the unwanted squatter in this pregnancy remains stubbornly large. Barely any shrinkage at all. She seems unconcerned and says that if it did bleed again, the blood may just go into the amniotic fluid and the baby would not be harmed by swallowing it. I however am frustrated. The statistics show that the majority of hematomas resolve by 20 weeks, so why is mine still there and still the same size? And I am distinctly uncomfortable with the thought of my son swallowing my blood in the amniotic fluid. Poor thing!

So I leave the scan happy that my little man continues to progress on track despite my complications, but deflated by my body’s continued refusal to behave.

8/3/14 – argh! Back on antibiotics again! Enough already. Woke up just fine, and mid morning my mother took me to get my nails done. (Even bed rest won’t stop me getting my in fills done) After only 20 minutes of sitting in the salon chair I started to shift uncomfortably, feeling pressure and needing to pee. I stayed put while they completed my nails by constantly shuffling back and forward, sitting upright and reclining. By the time I could get up, I hot footed it to the toilet, looking forward to the impending relief I would gain, but after a pathetic release, I was waddling uncomfortably to the car, begging to go home so that I could lie down and take the weight off my bump.

Once I arrived home, I lay down, but no position could alleviate the constant desperation I had to pee. I was rocking to and fro, changing positions, visiting the toilet, but nothing could calm me. Eventually, I stopped drinking to keep my bladder empty and blocked out all discomfort until I could sleep. I awoke as my husband came home to check up on me. For a few seconds I felt fine, but even opening my mouth to speak to him was enough to resurrect the feeling of urgency in my bladder.

Since my consultant had provided me with an emergency pack of antibiotics for a recurrent urine infection, I asked my husband to contact the maternity triage to ask if my symptoms were enough for me to start the course or whether I could come in for a urine dip.

When he relayed the information to the midwife, she seemed confused and insisted on talking to me personally. Once hubby had passed the phone to me, she began to quiz me repeatedly about my symptoms and dispute my reasons for possessing a packet of antibiotics. Eventually after much arguing, she agreed I could come in to triage to be assessed.

After several more trips to the bathroom and a lot of teeth gritting as we drove to the hospital, we arrived in the triage and were promptly seated to have the usual observations completed. Blood pressure, check, heart rate, check. Urine analysis….. Hmmm, for the first time all afternoon, I don’t need to pee!

So I wait with my hubby, clasping my sample pot and downing water until I am drowning.

Eventually, I manage to summon the urge to fill the pot, and hand it back to the midwife on duty. She dips the stick and inserts into the reader.

Hopeful, I ask for the results, but they insist I wait for the consultant to discuss.

Fortunately, the consultant is already present in triage, so the wait is relatively short.

When I enter the assessment room, she discusses my symptoms with me and talks through the possible causes. She agrees that at just 19 weeks pregnant, I should not be experiencing so much discomfort.

She agrees that one possible cause of my constant need to pee could be the beginning of another UTI (tell me something I don’t know), but also suggests that another candidate could be my bladder failing to empty fully when I visit the loo.

Unbeknown to me, they have two tests to diagnose this, the first of which she completes immediately.

I lay on the familiar examination bed, and after the obligatory poking and prodding she pulls out an amusing machine, almost like a Doppler and holds the probe low down in the centre of my pelvis. It vibrates briefly and crackles, apparently providing her with a measure of the amount of fluid current in my bladder. 300 ml. Not bad.

She then asks me to visit the toilet and empty as much as I can, then return to be remeasured. I do as I am told, and return to the bed for the second reading.

400ml!

She looks stunned. Confused. Some head scratching even commences.

She declares the machine incorrect and tries again. 400ml!

After a brief moment of tutting, the consultant suggests they admit me into hospital to perform the second more reliable test. However, that test involves inserting a catheter to empty my bladder, which seems rather extreme after just one day of discomfort.

After some more deliberation, the consultant decides that actually the machine is incorrectly picking up the level of amniotic fluid in my uterus, rather than the level of fluid on my bladder and that, given my recent history of uti’s and my relatively early stage of pregnancy, it is more likely to be the onset of a new UTI than my bladder not emptying correctly.

Therefore, she recommends I return home and begin the emergency course of antibiotics prescribed by my consultant, and return if I feel no relief in a few days.

Post Comment Love
3 Responses to “My IVF Diary 3 – 19 weeks pregnant”

  1. Victoria May 30, 2014 at 2:43 pm #

    oh its such a shame that you had scares during the scan, lovely picture, i like staring at my scan pictures, good luck with your pregnancy)

  2. Merlinda Little May 31, 2014 at 9:27 am #

    amazing how scans are like proof. My pregnancy seemed not real before I got hold of my scans. & when I showed it to my mother she almost cried. Thats really the first time we sa him. Technology are so amazing. #pocolo

  3. Dean B June 1, 2014 at 1:03 pm #

    Good luck! And I do hope that there’s more good news to come. Focus on that lovely photo of your little one, you will find so much comfort in his image 🙂 #PoCoLo.

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

