IVF Diary 3 – 18 weeks pregnant

22 May

Week 18

25/2/14 – huge day today. Actually started out pretty uncomfortable. For the first time in a long time, laying on my side is not comfortable. Although I don’t really see any growth in my stomach, it feels weighty and pulls on my back when I’m on either side. I continue to get braxton hicks, which are unwelcome, but thankfully not constant.

After much tossing and turning on the sofa, I finally give up and lie on my back. Then it happens.

Oooooof!

Whoah, that was hard!

Then again….

Doooof!

I lift the cover from my stomach just a tiny bit so as not to shine too bright a light at it and it’s moving! My stomach is moving! How did my boy suddenly get so strong overnight?

He continued to kick and punch for a good 30 minutes while I laughed, phoned my hubby and texted my mum. God I forgot how fun this part is! I have been waiting 5 years to feel this again.

By evening my mood darkened. The boy is still wriggling away but I feel terrible. Constantly nauseous, abdominal cramping and back ache and the persistent headache.

I forced some dinner down then spent the evening contemplating at what point I would freak out and how much worse it would need to get before I just took some paracetamol like a normal woman. Eventually fell asleep without the aid of paracetamol hoping for a better day tomorrow.

26/2/14 – The reason for last night’s revolting feeling becomes more apparent during an early morning trip to the lavatory.

For the second day in a row, I experience stomach cramps, diarrhea and quite the most hideous green/grey stool. My obstetrician had insisted I begin iron tablets as I am borderline anaemic and I had taken just 3 in the past 4 days, but they are playing havoc with my body.

After this unpleasant experience I feel some relief, but decide I must investigate alternative methods for boosting my iron levels as these side effects are just not palatable for the next 22 weeks.

Thankfully, little man is getting his wriggle on all day, which reminds me what thpese daily gripes are all in aid of. By evening, I attempted to get the hubby in on the action, but as with most babies in utero, he is a master at hiding from his dad, and so hubby is left to wait just a little while longer.

27/2/14-29/2/14 having now recovered from the side effects of my iron tablets, I am severely miffed to acquire another stomach complaint towards the end of the week. By Friday I am feeling decidedly queasy and yet starving hungry. I call my husband in the morning and burst into tears out of frustration as my stomach growls and my body shakes, but my nausea persists. Having taken out the majority of my pent up emotion on my husband, I pester my mother by phone until she arrives to cook me lunch.

Having been desperate to eat for hours, I squirm as the food is placed in front of me. I force myself to eat as much as I can bear, but am unable to ignore the hot flushes in my head, and the churning in my stomach.

Handing back my half eaten plate of food, I curl up on the sofa and attempt to sleep off the worst of the symptoms. I manage a whole half an hour of shut eye. When I wake, I feel some relief from the nausea, however, before long I am suffering from excruciating bowel cramps and hot sweats which are only relieved by another trip to the toilet.

That evening, perhaps due to the turmoil occurring in my stomach, I begin to experience frequent braxton hicks.

I contact the Maternity Triage who are alarmed but suggest I take some paracetamol and call back if the hicks haven’t slowed in an hour. I down the paracetamol and fall asleep from exhaustion. When I awake, the hicks have returned to their usual twice hourly frequency.

Unfortunately, my stomach is still really upset, and after eating just half a baby banana, I am curled over on the sofa screaming with the cramping. I am so hungry, I am shaking, light-headed and dizzy and am desperate for help.

Heeding my pleas, the hubby phones Maternity Triage again who state I can come in to be assessed.

I wish I hadn’t bothered if I’m honest. Arrived at Triage to be faced with the evil consultant who discharged me while I was haemorrhaging 6 weeks ago. Her sour face sent shivers down my spine. I had to stop myself from turning around and walking out right at that moment.

I approached the desk and gave the midwife my name. She sat me down to take my usual observations: blood pressure, temperature, oxygen level etc, (all normal despite the fact that I felt half dead), then I sat down to join the short queue of women waiting to see her royal sour puss.

When I entered the assessment room an hour later, she looked at me slightly perplexed, and muttered “I’ve met you before……? In the EAU….. You were bleeding?”.

“Yes” (I’m the 35 year old you thought was a naive 20 year old)

“So why are you here today?”

I walked through the symptoms of the past few days and how weak I felt.

She nodded and scribbled on my notes page then said… “Yes you probably have a stomach bug, what do you want us to do? Admit you?”

Rather startled, I responded with “what would you do if you did admit me?”

“Are you keeping water down?”

“A little, yes… It is just the violent stomach cramps and 3 days of no food that are worrying me”

“Then we will do nothing…. Just admit you until you are ready to go home”

Eh? What is the point of that?

Not fancying a day in a ward being ignored, I declined her generous offer and agreed it was best I go home.

“How much longer should I put up with this before seeking help?

“Hopefully it should calm down soon, but if not, come back”

And with that, I returned home none the wiser, and took some paracetamol to reduce the pain in my stomach.

Post Comment Love
2 Responses to “IVF Diary 3 – 18 weeks pregnant”

  1. Victoria Welton May 27, 2014 at 10:32 pm #

    For goodness sake!!! They really are ruddy useless at your hospital, aren’t they?! It sounds like you were having a hell of a time! I hope it all calmed down for you. Thank you for linking to PoCoLo 🙂 xx

  2. ojosworld May 28, 2014 at 3:05 pm #

    Goodness me, they are rubbish aren’t they!!? I hope you are feeling better? If not, do you have another Dr you can go see? xx #PoCoLo

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

