My IVF Diary 3 – 15 weeks pregnant

24 Apr

Week 15

4/2/14 The last couple of days have passed relatively smoothly. The bleeding has been lighter and I have been continuing to rest and drink endless amounts of water to try and keep everything as it should be.

I have also developed a monster appetite. For some reason, 1 breakfast and lunch just isn’t sufficient, so I’m having to eat 2 of each meal. Hard life.

Unfortunately, things took a slight turn for the worst this afternoon when I started to experience stomach cramps, back ache and waves of hot flushes and nausea. Hoping it was nothing, but taking no chances, I booked a last minute appointment with my GP to be checked for a urine infection.

My hunch was right. Just a few hours later, I was diagnosed with the suspected infection and prescribed a week of antibiotics to treat it. The last time I contracted a UTI in pregnancy, it put me into premature labour at 32 weeks, so I am determined to be cautious.

I’m glad I acted quickly, because by the time I returned home from the pharmacy, I was visiting the loo every 10 minutes needing to pee.

Gosh this pregnancy is fun!

I was a little more disturbed when, during one of many trips to the loo, the blood loss had significantly stepped up again. I knew the cramping from the UTI was likely aggravating the hematoma, so I resolved to take as many antibiotics as quickly as I was permitted to get a hold over the infection and stop the cramping.

However, by late evening the pain and cramping was becoming unbearable and in desperation I asked my husband to take me to A&E for help. After a 4 hour wait spent mostly doubled over on the floor and trying to tolerate a drunken old man who was hollering at the nurses and eying up my bump and repeatedly grinning at me, I was taken into a cubicle by a nurse to take the usual observations.

By now, I was somewhat tired and emotional after 12 hours of pain so I garbled my symptoms at her and then sat sobbing.

She took my temperature, followed by my blood pressure and pulse rate, but instead of abandoning me to wait another few hours for the doctor, she reappeared just a few moments later with a wheelchair, and explaining that my pulse was high and I was tachycardic, proceeded to wheel me at some speed into the trauma unit for monitoring.

Within seconds of arriving, I was helped onto a bed, asked to undress so they could attach heart monitors to my chest and stomach, and having my blood drawn by a nurse.

Not quite the turn of events I was expecting.

I remained in this area, confused and a little panicked for approximate 30 minutes with a kind nurse observing my heart rate continuously and asking me all about my baby. After some time, my bpm slowed to a more acceptable level and I was wheeled back into the regular A&E area to provide a unite sample and await a doctor.

After producing my sample, my husband hunted down a nurse to hand it to and asked for some painkillers. After another wait, a nurse entered the cubicle to insert an IV for liquid paracetamol and left us again to wait for the doctor.

We waited, and waited. And waited. For another 2 hours.

Eventually, a doctor entered the cubicle with my notes and asked me to repeat all of my history, despite having my notes in his hand. I explained the hemorrhage at 11 weeks, the remaining hematoma, the bleeding and pain that had returned this evening despite me commencing antibiotics for a UTI, and my fear that this UTI would spark contractions and premature labour like my previous pregnancy.

His response?

“Yes you had a hemorrhage, yes you have a hematoma in your womb, yes you have a UTI according to your urine sample and they can cause premature labour. But at 15 weeks we cannot help you if you go into labour, so best you go home and cross your fingers that you don’t miscarry”.

I was incensed. Sure, what he said maybe true. Perhaps there really is nothing they could do to help me further, but his heartless dismissal of my fears and lack of value for my baby made my blood boil.

I thanked him for nothing and left the hospital before I said something I regretted.

Thankfully, the IV paracetamol had stemmed the pain enough for me to return home and fall almost immediately into an exhausted sleep.

7/2/14 – I have now been on the antibiotics for 3 days and after 24 hours of extreme discomfort, I am finally feeling a little better.

But I have lost my appetite completely. I don’t feel sick or ill, I just don’t have any interest in eating.

I think this loss of hunger contributed to a slight reduction in the size of my bump, but today it seems to be very much present again. I’m hoping it’s on another little growth spurt. I’m not paranoid about getting fat, or huge… I want to see an outward sign that my baby is getting bigger and stronger… Bring it on!

Another new symptom seems to be constant tiredness and headaches. I’m not sure if this is a side effect of the tablets or a side effect of the pregnancy, but either way it is unwelcome. I’m just glad I am at home and able to take regular naps as and when I need to.

One rather more welcome side effect is the growth in my boobs! I can finally say that my regular bras are too tight and uncomfortable, and I shall be making a trip to mothercare at the weekend, courtesy of my chauffeur (poor hubby), to buy a maternity bra. Yay!

Post Comment Love
5 Responses to “My IVF Diary 3 – 15 weeks pregnant”

  1. KayC April 24, 2014 at 9:31 pm #

    crikey! what is it with these heartless and insensitive doctors!? doesnt say a lot about The Caring Profession does it! makes me so bloody cross. I know its not all of them but a handful of people like that cause a lot of harm 😦 sending you all lots of hugs xxxx

  2. Kim Carberry April 25, 2014 at 5:22 pm #

    Oh my! What an ordeal! After what you went through that day I would of been quite tempted to smack that rude doctor right in the face….Hugs x

  3. Merlinda (@pixiedusk) April 25, 2014 at 8:21 pm #

    I am not going to doctors now lately. When I am face to face with them they give me an impression that I am there wsting their precious time. I have so many health questions now that I want to ask but I dont want to waste their precious time.

    Hopefully things will be better next time.

    What I love about being pregnant is how I feel that my body is at its prettiest. I have curves that I can only wish I have before. Sadly when I gave birth it also went away =P

    #pocolo

  4. @katgrant30 April 26, 2014 at 7:59 am #

    Whew, what a week! Glad the pain has subsided…really hope you soon get to start enjoying this pregnancy a bit more 🙂 Maternity bra shopping will help, for sure! 🙂
    #PoCoLo

  5. Victoria Welton April 27, 2014 at 9:27 pm #

    Blimey, hospitals are shit sometimes! And how insensitive was that doctor?! I do wish people like that weren’t allowed to be in that profession! So pleased it all calmed down lovely. Look forward to next week.Thank you for linking to PoCoLo x

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

