My IVF Diary 3 – 14 weeks pregnant

17 Apr

27/1/14 – woke up several times during the night with twinges and cramping. Got up to go to the toilet at 7am, which I hoped may settle things. Sadly not, the bleeding, having waned in the previous few days had once again resurrected. Not to a frightening level, but really unwelcome all the same. The cramping continued all morning, so I took my progesterone and downed a litre of water in the hope of calming the pain.

My doctor rang at lunchtime to discuss my progress. I told her about the ongoing bleeding and the cramping. She told me to keep taking the progesterone, and signed me off work for another month. She stated that good or bad outcome, this episode would likely persist for a while longer.

I agreed to talk to my consultant on Thursday to discuss monitoring/extra scans.

So it seems I am going to remain out of action for some time yet. In a way, I am pleased that my doctor is taking care of me, but I am also hugely frustrated that this complication is preventing me from enjoying my pregnancy and leaving me bored and bed bound for so long.

I’m crossing everything that with rest and patience, my baby survives and the hematoma resolves without complication as soon as possible. Any alternative outcome seems too difficult to even contemplate at this point.

28/1/14 – The cramping seemed to calm by yesterday afternoon, and despite some more blood loss that evening, I slept comfortably and awoke this morning feeling quite optimistic.

But my first trip to the bathroom changed all that, as I was treated to yet more blood and now some clotted material.

Trying not to panic, I continued to check and was relieved to see just more old blood.

The old blood continued to be seen throughout the morning.

Although I know the blood from the hematoma has to go somewhere if it is to reduce, the amount of continuous blood loss over these past 2.5 weeks is exhausting and nerve wracking. I am so drained by the constant worry I just want it to end already.

By the evening, the bleeding eased and continued to be very minimal the following day.

30/1/14 – Appointment with the consultant at the hospital today. Awoke feeling nervous but keen to discuss my antenatal plan. My heart sank when I went to the toilet to see another patch of blood that must have appeared overnight. I feel like some days I am going backwards.

So it was with some trepidation that I awaited my consultant appointment.

When she finally called me in an hour late, she was quick to reel off the issues with my first pregnancy and birth and to assure me that these would be unlikely to reoccur and therefore she hoped not to have to see me at all. However, she seemed totally unaware of my recent miscarriage and my ongoing hematoma.

The nurse took my urine sample and confirmed the presence of blood. The consultant dismissed this as likely from the hematoma bleeding. She also checked my blood pressure which was low, but was completely disinterested.

Keen to ensure she did not dismiss me out of hand, I impressed to her the anxiety that the current bleeding was causing, and said that it was very tough to bleed every day and yet have no information on the status of the hematoma until 20 weeks. In response, she offered to permit me an additional scan at 18 weeks with an appointment with her afterwards to discuss.

She also asked if I would like to hear the baby’s heartbeat. YES! I lay on the bed and she asked a student doctor to listen. After 30 seconds without detection and my own heart in my mouth, he finally hit jackpot as the pow pow pow suddenly emerged.

“That’s it!” I screeched. Relief washed over me.

I left the room to collect the results of my Downs Screening and book my follow up scan and appointment. A nurse appeared with my results, and I was ecstatic to see a risk of just 1:1900, low risk.

I left the clinic with a big smile and had my husband go straight to Mothercare to purchase me some maternity leggings and a new baby outfit at last.

1/2/14 – Private scan day today. Despite hearing baby’s heartbeat on Thursday, I am still wracked with the same nerves I possess at every scan, not helped by the continuation of the bleeding and a crampy stomach.

Fortunately, within seconds of the scan beginning the sonographer confirmed a good heartbeat and I was able to open my eyes and breathe out for one moment. She checked baby over and took measurements of head, tummy and leg bone confirming they were all within the normal range. She confirmed the heart, brain and kidneys all looked good and asked if we wanted to know the gender. We said yes, and since this baby was in an exhibitionist mood, it was only too happy to oblige.

Despite it being early days, she was 100% certain we have another boy!

I laughed, knowing that some family members would be hugely disappointed as they have been hoping for a girl for years, but smiled, knowing that my son and my dad would be happy.

This little fella was in a playful mood and was dancing and wriggling throughout. He kicked and bounced and swallowed and when the 4d was switched on, he even waved at us.

image

I love him already.

Having assured us that baby was fine, she moved on to examine the hematoma. Disappointingly, the last 2 weeks of bleeding had not reduced the size of the clot at all. However, the appearance was still showing old clotted blood, and no new bleed. The bleed is still away from the placenta and therefore not jeopardising the baby’s growth right now.

The sonographer’s opinion was that the blood would gradually solidify and remain in the uterus for the rest of the pregnancy. I just want the damn thing gone, and am still praying it will disappear by 20 weeks. I am terrified it will come out as a giant clot causing contractions, or will remain in the uterus and cause premature labour and delivery.

But for now, we just celebrate that our little boy is still alive and kicking, and pray that luck is on our side this time.

Post Comment Love
9 Responses to “My IVF Diary 3 – 14 weeks pregnant”

  1. KayC April 17, 2014 at 8:23 am #

    ah,but also lots of family members over here delighted at the idea of another Oz! :-)) hope you are doing well, know its boring but every week is a week closer to him being here, we are thinking of you xxxx

  2. Merlinda (@pixiedusk) April 18, 2014 at 8:31 am #

    Aww I am glad that this post ends happily ever after! Look at him looking comfiest in there. So happy for you. #pocolo

  3. Louisa April 18, 2014 at 9:21 am #

    Gosh, what an emotional few weeks for you. I had a haematoma with my second pregnancy and it is very, very frightening. My son is now a strapping 9 year old. Take care and relax as much as possible x #pocolo

  4. Caroline (Becoming a SAHM) April 18, 2014 at 2:51 pm #

    Gosh what a scary time, but so lovely to hear that heartbeat and then to see your little boy! Lovely post and so happy all is going well! #pocolo

  5. there and back again... a mother's tale April 18, 2014 at 8:05 pm #

    So glad all is OK, and what an amazing scan, incredible detail and a wave too, amazing! #pocolo

  6. emilytealady April 18, 2014 at 9:55 pm #

    Wow what a worrying time but what a lovely scan for you. Wishing you well x

  7. @katgrant30 April 19, 2014 at 12:00 am #

    Those 4d scans are truly incredible! What a little fighter you have in there! 🙂 #pocolo

  8. Verily Victoria Vocalises April 19, 2014 at 9:21 pm #

    I am so happy you got a 4d scan and wonderful news about your beautiful little boy 🙂 It must have been so worrying for you my lovely and I am looking forward to next weeks read. Take care 🙂 Thank you for linking to PoCoLo x

  9. MyLifeAsAMummy (@MyLifeAsAMummyx) April 20, 2014 at 9:51 am #

    What a worrying few days for you!

    Glad you got to see your little man during the scan

    Try to stay positive and get lots of rest

    Laura x x x

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

