One Year On

4 Apr

A year ago today was without doubt one of the most devastating days of my life.

It was the day we found out we had lost our baby.

So today, I reflect and remember.

I still recall the exact moment as if it were yesterday.

How it happened, how it felt.

The shock, the disbelief, the horror, the overwhelming loss of someone I so badly wanted to meet, yet never would.

That experience has changed me forever.

I hope for the better in some ways.

So I have much to thank that little soul for:

For bringing me unrivalled happiness, if only for a short time.

For allowing me to be understanding and compassionate of others who suffer the loss of a child.

For sending me the gift of another child to remember you by on the day I needed it most.

For giving me the strength to fight like never before for the life of that child I’m carrying right now.

I know my memories of my lost baby may become more fluid as time goes on, but he/she will always remain a part of my family and a part of my life. I will always be a mother of three.

Never forgotten.

x

One Response to “One Year On”

  1. Shannon April 4, 2014 at 5:24 pm #

    Hugs! As someone who has also lost a baby I feel for you. Mine will be two years ago in June. I always think of it as three who hold my hand and one who holds my heart. Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

