My IVF Diary 3 – 9-10 weeks pregnant

18 Mar

Week 9 – Christmas week. Loss of symptoms didn’t last long. By the beginning of week 9 I am not only sporting a virus which is inflaming my throat and ears and generally making me feel pitiful, I also feel sick as a dog and am beyond tired..

Unfortunately there is no opportunity to rest, with some frantic work deadlines to meet before the Christmas break, and then 5 guests to entertain on Christmas Day and Boxing Day. So despite not being permitted to take any drugs to relieve the virus, I do my very best to put up a front to everyone that all is normal, and that the reason I am gagging is due to the bug aggravating my reflux.

Aside from the nausea, I am starving constantly, and in spite of my best efforts to keep eating whatever I can stomach, I feel weak, shaky and out of breath. I remember this feeling from my first pregnancy. It struck between weeks 8 and 11, so aside from feeling wretched, I am hopeful that this is a good sign.

Christmas Day was a welcome distraction to the symptoms. I spent a great deal of time on the sofa feeling sorry for myself, and was plagued by dizziness, the shakes, nausea and fatigue whilst coordinating the turkey roast. However, the presence of my parents, in laws and grandmother provided some much needed entertainment to pass the time. I was disappointed not to manage my normal enormous portion of dinner and wondered whether anyone would question my lack of appetite and refusal of alcohol, but I think my obvious bug provided a good alibi, especially when they all came down with it just a few days later.

By Christmas evening I was exhausted and could barely drag my weary limbs into bed.

Boxing Day was much the same as Christmas Day with just a little less chaos, but by the end of the week my hubby was back at work, my son was back at childminders and I had a much needed day to myself. Perfect. Except for the loss of my cook/slave, poised to serve me with any food I required at a moments notice. Cooking your own breakfast, lunch etc is tough when faced with constant nausea and the energy levels of a sloth.

How glad I was when the weekend arrived and the cook/slave returned to my beckon call.

Week 10 – Woke up on the Monday feeling completely normal. Was somewhat panicked that my symptoms had disappeared too early but since I had my reassurance scan in just 5 days, I remained determined to stick it out and hope for the best.

By Wednesday, my symptoms were back, and I was feeling hungry and nauseous most of the day. By Saturday, scan day, I was still feeling queasy, but not to the same extent. I was hopeful that all was fine, but couldn’t help feeling a flurry of nerves as we entered the scan room.

As before, I closed my eyes tightly as the sonographer placed the ultrasound wand over my belly and didn’t open them until I heard a positive indication of the heartbeat.

When I did peer through my hands, the baby looked less like a cockroach and more like a fully formed human, with arms, legs, fingers and toes. At first, baby was resting and I was concerned with lack of movement. The sonographer on the other hand was very pleased with this inactivity as she was easily able to measure all key items.

Once the measuring was done, baby began a little wriggle and kindly stretched its arms and legs for us to see.

We left the clinic excited, reassured and flooded with optimism for the next few weeks.

image

Post Comment Love
5 Responses to “My IVF Diary 3 – 9-10 weeks pregnant”

  1. Merlinda Little (@pixiedusk) March 21, 2014 at 4:14 pm #

    Im glad everything is going well. I so love seeing scans cuz they remind me of my son’s scans too!

    Just dropping by to say Hi!

    #pocolo

    • ferreroroche123 March 21, 2014 at 4:20 pm #

      Thanks. It was nice to see it looking so human at last.

  2. Kim Carberry March 21, 2014 at 8:23 pm #

    Aww How brilliant!! I love reading this series of posts xx

  3. Victoria Welton (@VicWelton) March 22, 2014 at 12:11 pm #

    Sorry you felt so rubbish at Christmas – but all for a great reason! Well done for getting through it. Lovely to see your scan photo 🙂 Thinking of you often. Thank you for linking to PoCoLo x

  4. emilytealady March 23, 2014 at 11:42 am #

    Oh this brings back memories of nausea and tiredness! I am glad your scan went well. X

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

