My IVF Diary 3 – The Result

25 Feb

20/11/13 progesterone

Test day.

Gulp.

My nerves are ragged.

Awake at 2am, 4am and 5am but don’t need the loo so force myself to try and sleep. By 6am, I can take no more. I go upstairs and retrieve the Clearblue digital pregnancy test given to me by the clinic from the airing cupboard. I try to open it, but the damn thing is not budging. I pull and pull, but cannot tear the end so creep into the bedroom looking for some scissors. Hubby has hidden them so I wake him to help. He does his best but still can’t open it so he rushes to the bathroom in a semi conscious state to get the tweezers. By now I am getting desperate for the loo and have to sit down to calm my bladder.

Hubby finally breaks the seal with such force I think the test will fly across the bathroom. I grab it, pull off the lid in a panick and pee on it.

The timer starts flashing. My hands shake. I look away, clutching my husband, fearful of what it may say. I peek back, still flashing. My legs shake. I look back…. still flashing…..this feels like an eternity.

I daren’t look. I can’t bear to see the answer.

And then, there it is. As clear as you like… “Pregnant, 2-3 weeks”.

I throw my arms around my husband and sob on his shoulder for several minutes. He hugs me back and says “pull your pants up kid and then get on that sofa for nine months”.

Here we go again….

image

MAD Blog Awards

If you like what you read, there is still time to nominate me in the MAD Blogs 2014 Awards. Suggested categories might be Blog of the Year, Best Blog Writer or Best Pregnancy Blog. Just press the logo above to nominate. Thanks.

15 Responses to “My IVF Diary 3 – The Result”

  1. KayC February 25, 2014 at 10:22 am #

    Can’t believe how brilliantly you managed to keep that secret when we saw you!! πŸ˜€ thought fully understand why of course. A, D and L all so chuffed and excited for you!!, Im sure you can guage my excitement by the amount of !!!! marks I use in my posts! πŸ˜€ xxxx PS !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. ferreroroche123 February 25, 2014 at 10:29 am #

    Surprised no one notice my grey complexion, pathetic appetite and shakes.

  3. babylotusblog February 25, 2014 at 10:37 am #

    Congratulations!!!!!!!

  4. diaryofamadcrafter February 25, 2014 at 1:03 pm #

    Congratulations!!!!

  5. Nushi February 25, 2014 at 1:30 pm #

    Great news! Congratulations!!

  6. 1suburbanchic February 25, 2014 at 6:49 pm #

    Congrats!!! πŸ™‚

  7. @katgrant30 February 28, 2014 at 12:04 pm #

    Congratulations! Wishing you a happy and healthy pregnancy. X

  8. Caroline (Becoming a SAHM) February 28, 2014 at 2:30 pm #

    COngratulations and I really wish you the best of luck with your pregnancy!! xx #pocolo

  9. Katie Clark February 28, 2014 at 3:18 pm #

    Congratulations, enjoy your pregnancy. #PoCoLo

  10. Dean B February 28, 2014 at 5:02 pm #

    Congratulations! Exciting news indeed. I’m sure all will be well πŸ™‚ #PoCoLo

  11. Kim Carberry February 28, 2014 at 8:55 pm #

    Very exciting news! Congrats x

  12. Victoria Welton (@VicWelton) March 3, 2014 at 9:48 pm #

    I was SO looking forward to this post πŸ™‚ I really hope that you are keeping well and the complications have eased off now. I am looking forward to the diary continuing into your pregnancy. Take care lovely. Thank you for linking to PoCoLo and congratulations again x

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

