My IVF Diary 3 – Egg Collection

4 Feb

3/11/13

The waiting game. Feeling really sick today. Stomach completely shut down and even the texture of food in my mouth makes me want to gag. Also had a pretty poor nights sleep so am tired. Decided to stay at home while hubby took the boy out. I know that time would pass more quickly if I kept busy, but feeling like this, I just want to curl up under the duvet all day and hide.

Am also still anxious about ovulating before egg collection. I know this has never happened in the past 3 cycles, and we have been diligent in injecting the Orgalutran, but I just can’t help but feel worried. It is everything right now to collect a good crop of mature eggs, so my anxiety levels are high.

4/11/13 diclofenac suppository and doxycycline

Collection day.

Wake at 4am feeling impossibly anxious. I cannot wait for today to be over. My acid reflux is burning my insides with a fury, so I take an omeprazole with a sip of water and attempt to grab another hours sleep before its time to get ready to go.

6.10am. Unable to sleep, I get up feeling shattered and begin the pre-collection ritual. Toilet, check. Compression stockings, check. Suppository, check.

I have to be at the clinic by 8am, but with Monday morning traffic into London unpredictable, we head off at 6.30am leaving nothing to chance.

By 7.30am we are at the clinic, and bar the cleaners, we are the only ones there.

This is my first ever collection at a fully private clinic, so I’m eager to find out how it measures up in comparison to my previous collections at the hospital.

The nurses and anaesthetist gradually start to trickle in one at a time, and thankfully, get straight to work. This eases my nerves immediately.

By 8.10am I am downstairs in the collection area with a cannula in my hand and the doctor enters the cubicle to explain the procedure. I had this doctor for my last collection, but this time she is friendlier and more reassuring.

Then I change into my gown, slippers and robe (nice touch), and the nurse returns to take my blood pressure before showing me to theatre.

By 8.30am, I am lying on the table right on time. This settles my nerves greatly.

I confirm mine and my husband’s details to the embryologist before the anaesthetist makes a joke and asks me to breathe in some gas.

GOD I feel woozy. The room is spinning. I am out.

Next thing I remember I am lying in recovery with a wonderful nurse and my husband next to me asking me if I want some tea.

I nod, but all I feel is pain.

The nurse asks me how I feel and I tell her “pain”. She asks me to grade the pain 1-10 and then suggests she go and get some paracetamol.

She returns first with the tea, and a basket full of biscuits. Sadly no chocolate ones, but an impressive array none the less. I sip on the tea and try desperately to find a more comfortable position, but the pain is attacking me from both sides. Like needles stabbing me over and over.

The nurse arrives with two paracetamol tablets and I am disappointed, I was hoping for something faster acting, but she is a lovely caring lady so I feel reassured that she will look after me.

She takes my blood pressure, oxygen levels and heart rate. My pulse is showing at 270bpm! She looks alarmed and moves the monitor on my finger until finally the number reduces to a less concerning 121 bpm.

She leaves me to rest for about an hour, checking on me every 10 minutes to assess pain levels and offer more tea and biscuits.

The doctor comes in after completing the next collection and confirms that they managed to reach all follicles in both ovaries.

Thank god.

Then she confirms that they managed to collect 6 eggs and congratulates me.

6.

That doomed number. I was so hoping for even 1 more. Last time we got 6 eggs and only 1 fertilised, and I knew immediately it was game over.

It was so important to me to do better this time.

I am disappointed. But right now all I can focus on is pain.

The nurse returns a little later and the pain is as strong as ever, but now I need the toilet.

I pull myself out of bed, and the nurse accompanies me, holding my arm all the way. She waits outside and tells me to call her if I need any help.

I am bleeding, but I empty my bladder and return to the cubicle with her assistance.

She says that she will check on me shortly and if I am still no better she will call the doctor.

With an empty bladder and the paracetamol taking effect I am starting to feel a little better.

I tell the nurse and she hands me a copy of Vogue magazine and tells me to relax for a while.

I ask her whether they have any more collections today and she confirms that they are all complete but assures me that this cubicle is now mine and no matter how many collections they had, I need not leave until I am absolutely ready.

Now this is different to the previous hospital.

After another 30 minutes of rest I decide I am ready to leave and get out of bed and get dressed.

I wait for a nurse to come in to remove my cannula, but before one arrives, a hoard of embryologists enter with clipboards. Each one states the name of a different patient and the nurse points them to the correct cubicle.

My one enters and confirms my details. She then re-iterates that they gathered 6 eggs (damn, I was hoping the Doctor had been mistaken), and that they were leaving them for a final hour to ensure they are mature, before they strip the outer cells off them to begin the ICSI.

She also confirmed that they are in possession of 21.6 million of hubby’s sperm all swimming well and in the right direction, so they would not be short of choice when selecting the best to inject.

Excellent, all the orange juice I made him drink these past 10 weeks may just have paid off.

She said she would call tomorrow between 9am and 10am to confirm how many had fertilised, and every day thereafter.

Think positive Nik. This time will be better.

Come on little fighters.

After a further brief chat, she leaves, the nurse removes my cannula, takes my vital signs for a final time, checks the blood I am losing and I leave, promising to call this afternoon if the bleeding or pain intensifies.

All in all I couldn’t have received better care, it was such a contrast to the last time. But now it all hangs on tomorrow.

Post Comment Love
3 Responses to “My IVF Diary 3 – Egg Collection”

  1. Michelle Davis February 7, 2014 at 10:27 pm #

    I really enjoy reading your diary, even more so since you announced your news! looking forward to the next instalment 🙂

  2. Victoria Welton (@VicWelton) February 9, 2014 at 9:45 pm #

    Firstly, how are you feeling? I am continuously fascinated by your diary as I wonder if, one day I may have to go through IVF. My goodness you go through the mill Thank you for linking to PoCoLo x

    • ferreroroche123 February 9, 2014 at 9:52 pm #

      Well I’ve recovered from the egg collection thanks Vic! Still on bed rest and bleeding. Bored and wishing this blasted blood clot would get lost already! But getting bigger every day, so hoping baby is still doing ok.

      Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

