Announcement – and then there were four?

20 Jan

The 5th November should have been our baby’s birthday. But on that day it was us who received the most special present of all. Someone to always remember our lost child by………..

image

Ben, Oscar and I hope to meet this wonderful miracle in 6 months, on July 28th.

We have been itching to tell the whole world of our news for so long, and thought we had made it last week.

Unfortunately, just one day before 12 weeks, there was a complication. At 2am on Sunday morning, I haemorrhaged in my sleep. When we got to hospital we were told I was miscarrying our child at 11 weeks 6 days.

However after 6 hours of waiting, and many tears, an ultrasound showed that this baby was still alive and well. However, I have a hematoma in my womb that could hemorrhage again at any moment.

After a week of bed rest, today’s 13 week scan showed the hematoma still there and slightly larger, but not yet causing the baby harm.

Until the hematoma disappears, we are at an increased risk of miscarriage or premature labour. Usually these things resolve by 20 weeks, but not always.

So for now, I am out of action, trying to ensure this precious little addition has a happy ending.

At this stage, no matter what the outcome, I want to thank two very special people, without whom I wouldn’t have made it this far:

1) My mum – when I told my mum that I was going to start ivf treatment again to try for a sibling for my son she was horrified and openly against my decision. I know her reason was one of concern for her daughter’s welfare and fear that the problems I experienced during my 1st ivf and subsequent pregnancy would be repeated.

However, despite her reservations, her support for me, especially during this last 3 months has been unquestionable. I know I have put her through the emotional ringer and required her to accept that my desire to complete my family outweighs the physical and psychological risks that she would rather protect me from, and I thank her for embracing this and helping me throughout.

2) My husband – my husband is my hero. I’m not sure words could express the gratitude I feel for the care he has given me during this time. He has done more than any of you will ever know to ensure my happiness and safety and I want him to know that I am truly thankful.

I also thank the few friends who have shared this journey with me so far, for keeping me sane in my moments of paranoia, for sharing in my secret joy and for their care over this past awful week. You know who you are.

So for now, we are delighted to announce this exciting news, and ask you all to keep your fingers, toes and legs crossed as tightly as mine that this time, luck is on our side.

Post Comment Love
18 Responses to “Announcement – and then there were four?”

  1. Wendy Jepson January 20, 2014 at 7:31 pm #

    Wonderful news. Congratulations!! I’ll be thinking of you. W x

    • ferreroroche123 January 20, 2014 at 7:42 pm #

      Thanks Wendy. So sorry for my absence.

      • Wendy Jepson January 20, 2014 at 9:18 pm #

        Just so pleased for you. Take care.

  2. learnermother January 20, 2014 at 8:08 pm #

    Oh I am so pleased for you – so so pleased – the scan picture was the first thing that popped up in my wordpress reader! Rest up now. My friend had a haematoma throughout her pregnancy and had to take it easy but delivered a healthy baby girl at the end of it. Much love x x

    • ferreroroche123 January 20, 2014 at 8:15 pm #

      Thanks Michelle. Yes I am trying to rest! Be glad when this darn thing gets lost! But glad baby is still ok, has been nerve wracking time.

  3. Caroline (BecomingaSAHM) January 24, 2014 at 3:45 pm #

    Oh wow, congratulations and take it easy! Your words of thanks to your mum and hubby brought tears to my eyes! Hope it all goes well for you! xx #pocolo

  4. youbabymemummy January 24, 2014 at 8:30 pm #

    Congratulations, I hope it all goes well for you x

  5. Leanne Rain January 24, 2014 at 8:44 pm #

    Awwww Congrats hunnie!!!… Snuggle in tight Beanie Baby :). #pocolo http://www.suggys.co.uk/Leanne

  6. Sara (@mumturnedmom) January 25, 2014 at 3:39 pm #

    Oh, many congratulations xx This is a beautiful post, and I will be keeping everything possible crossed for you. I have tears in my eyes over the lovely thanks to your mum and husband. Take it easy!! #PoCoLo

  7. PODcast (@The_Doves) January 26, 2014 at 10:32 am #

    Oh my goodness, oh my goodness – keeping EVERYTHING crossed for you xxxx

  8. Victoria Welton (@VicWelton) January 26, 2014 at 3:18 pm #

    I remember my favourite posts for a while being your IVF story. I wondered what was happening since. I am so pleased and nervous for you all at the same time. Ross and I are hoping for a family this year and I know the years are stacked against me. I will be thinking positive thoughts for you my lovely. I am certain that you are likely to be constantly chatting to that little one growing inside you to stay strong. Thank you for linking to PoCoLo and congratulations xxx

    • ferreroroche123 January 26, 2014 at 3:20 pm #

      Thanks. I wrote my ivf diary from this round and will begin publishing next week. X

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

