Here’s to 2013…. It’s been emotional

31 Dec

So as we stand on the precipice of a new year, I thought I’d take a look back at the year that was… 2013.

And I think it’s fair to say, it’s been an eventful one….maybe in retrospect I should have just hibernated, but I didn’t and by god I’m more than a year older as a result.

So what were the highlights and lowlights exactly?

January: The new year was welcomed with a new blog and a flu bug. First my boy, then me. I spent half of the month in bed unable to move and my planned ivf treatment was postponed. Maybe I should have taken the hint then.

February: Another month, another virus, but this time it was short lived and my ivf treatment went ahead. By the end of the month we learn we are 4 weeks pregnant with baby number 2!

March: We had our first ultrasound and our excitement turned to anxiety when the baby couldn’t be found. A week later, a repeat ultrasound found baby with heartbeat, but measuring small for dates. By 8 weeks, baby had trebled in size and we were discharged to the GP to continue with normal antenatal care.

April: On 4th of this month our world fell apart when our little baby’s heart stopped beating. Surgery to remove it swiftly went ahead, followed by complications and months of medication and recovery.

May: My momma turned 60. Brief return to celebrations brought some respite, quickly overturned by a car crash which left me in hospital.

June/July This month was all about a much needed holiday. Yay! The week away was a good temporary distraction from the troubles at home, but sadly our troubles intensified on our return when Oscar was diagnosed with ITP. The rest of this month along with most of July is consumed by hospital visits for treatment and monitoring.

August: The 8th month was busy. I commenced a new and difficult round of IVF, my son turned 4, amidst a quite exhausting fireman party, and I turned 35, much to my disappointment. The IVF failed as expected, and we ended the month back at square 1.

September: The boy started school and so began the never ending treadmill of lunch boxes, homework, P.E kits and name labels… Lots and lots of labels.

October-December: Work and life got in the way. It’s fair to say that these past 3 months a frantic work schedule coupled with some tough family circumstances have consumed every minute of my days. I focus on simply surviving. However, one should not overlook some truly great news during this period….. My son’s official recovery from ITP. A fact we will always be hugely grateful for.

So, how do I feel after this soap opera of a year? Angry? Bitter? Exhausted. No.

Lucky to have survived it and hugely thankful to everyone who got me through it. My family, my friends and some truly lovely bloggers who have never even met me, but felt compelled to support me via the medium of t’internet. You’re all a bunch of good eggs, and you mean the world to me.

And what does next year hold?

Well, I know there is some sadness to come and I’m not looking forward to that, but mostly I feel optimistic that there may be some joy too. And let’s face it, if I can survive this beast of a year, I reckon I can cope with whatever 2014 has in store… Bring it on.

So I raise my glass to you all and wish every one of you a very Happy New Year.

Xx

3 Responses to “Here’s to 2013…. It’s been emotional”

  1. learnermother January 1, 2014 at 1:46 pm #

    And a very Happy New Year to you too. I know last year was something of a roller coaster and I really hope 2014 is less stressful x

    • ferreroroche123 January 1, 2014 at 1:50 pm #

      Thanks Michelle…. I am keeping everything crossed!

  2. Kay Cugini January 1, 2014 at 6:59 pm #

    wishing you all a happier 2014, know at the moment its hard to see too far ahead, but they say its always darkest before dawn, so here’s hoping this year brings you lots of sunshine moments xxxx

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

