Childhood ITP – The Recovery

25 Nov

Today we received the news we have waited nearly six long months for – Oscar’s platelet count is 186 and officially back in the normal range.

After daily, weekly, monthly and eventually bi-monthly blood and urine tests, in addition to clinic check ups to look for petechia (blood spots) and increased bruising, my little fighter has been discharged from the hospital and is now “recovered”.

I use this word tentatively, because I have no idea whether his ITP will ever return in the future. But for now, I couldn’t be happier.

This year has been a long battle in many ways, and whilst some of those battles continue, this one, right now, is won.

The relief is immense. Like a giant weight has been lifted from our shoulders. I’m not sure how long it will take me to stop worrying every time he runs, trips, bangs his head or cuts his lip. It is so engrained in my subconscious, it may take a while to squeeze out.

But deep down, I know he will be ok. At least as ok as any other 4 year old, so I will try to tell myself this every time I over-react to him walking into a door or tripping up a kerb.

Since I published the posts detailing my son’s illness, I have received a number of responses from others in similar situations, which helped me see that we weren’t alone. Thank you to everyone who shared. A number of these people’s children developed chronic ITP and are living with the condition everyday. I consider us the lucky ones.

I would also like to thank the ITP Support Association for the valuable information they provided after Oscar’s diagnosis – they are an excellent charity, check them out if you haven’t already.

Thanks all
X

image

Post Comment Love
5 Responses to “Childhood ITP – The Recovery”

  1. Judith November 26, 2013 at 10:27 am #

    So so happy for you all… wonderful news..

  2. Victoria Welton (@VicWelton) November 30, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

    This is such great news, I am so pleased things are improving. Oscar is absolutely gorgeous 🙂 Thanks for linking to PoCoLo x

  3. Sara driver December 8, 2013 at 12:54 am #

    Would really like to chat with you my 4 year old was diagnosed on Monday, so please your gorgeous boy is ok I’m a non functioning mummy at the moment !

    • ferreroroche123 December 8, 2013 at 7:13 am #

      If you find me on twitter (ferreroroche123) and direct message me I can give you details to email me with any questions.

      • Sara driver December 13, 2013 at 11:54 pm #

        Thankyou so much

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

