IVF Diary 2 – The Result

22 Oct

A retrospective account of my recently completed IVF treatment.

25/8/13 progesterone

Don’t think I’ll be needing that test after all. Woke up this morning to bleeding and cramping. And not just the spotting type like before. No. The full on bright red it’s all over type.

Hubby is working overtime today at the Notting Hill Carnival. His timing is as ever impeccable.

Would really like to lie on the sofa all day feeling miserable, but have a feeling Oscar will be requiring a bit more stimulation than that.

I guess I’d better accept this failure sharp ish and move on, but I’m disappointed I haven’t even made it to test date.

Not even sure whether I should continue with the progesterone now until I’ve officially tested on Wednesday.

28/8/13 Test day.

I decided that since nothing is considered abnormal in IVF I had better continue with the progesterone until I had taken the test.

The bleeding has continued modestly since Sunday. I think had I not been taking the progesterone it would have turned into a full period by now.

So it was almost with complete detachment that I took the test this morning.

BFN.

I held the test strip up to the light just to check that there wasn’t even the faintest line, but I knew the result.

It’s over. Now to get my son up with a cuddle, go into the office and pretend everything is rosy.

Til next time all.

X

3 Responses to “IVF Diary 2 – The Result”

  1. jaygore October 22, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    That sucks! Sending good thoughts your way xx

  2. LearnerMother October 22, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

    Till next time x x x

  3. Victoria Welton October 28, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

    Oh my gosh, I was crossing my fingers big time for a positive result. I am so gutted 😦 Thanks for linking to PoCoLo x

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

