IVF Diary 2 – 2 week wait

15 Oct

A retrospective account of my recently completed IVF cycle.

19/8/13 Doxycycline and progesterone suppositories. My birthday today. Should be feeling celebratory but most definitely not. Feeling depressed that I haven’t felt any twinges in my womb at all like I did last time my blastocyst implanted. I know by now that my embryo should be day 7, and if it was still going it should be getting it’s claws into my nice cosy womb lining. Last time, to the day I felt some mild twinges a bit like a tiny pin poking me in the exact place they put the blastocyst, but this time nothing of the sort.

What I have enjoyed instead is constant pain from my ovaries, bloating, and this morning, some horrific diarrhoea and nausea.

At 9.45am, I was due to take Oscar for his hospital check up, to track his ITP, but I was welded to the toilet, sweating, shaking and feeling green.

I finally managed to drag myself out, 15 minutes late, and completed Oscar’s hospital visit before lunchtime.

Still feeling sick and delicate, I postponed lunch until 3pm, and sulked on the sofa.

On the plus side, this morning was my last doxycycline tablet, so I’m hoping the tummy upset will wear off by tomorrow.

21/8/13 Progesterone suppositories

Bad day in the office today.

Was feeling distinctly uncomfortable all day. All of my work clothes were positively straining at the seams. Trying to sit upright at my desk was impossible because my trousers were cutting into my stomach, and I felt like my ovaries were being squashed. So I spent the day shifting back and forward, sliding up and down trying to find a less irritating position.

I had several meetings and was hoping no one would notice my discomfort and my massive waistline!

Finally gave up at about 3pm and discretely undid my trousers. I wouldn’t mind if I was 8 weeks pregnant, but I’m most definitely not!

On the way home, I got stuck in some truly hideous traffic on the M25 and spent over 2 hours in the car. I’ve been increasingly thirsty this week, so was downing a bottle of water during this extended journey. Unfortunately, I then became desperate for the loo, and started to seriously panic that I might wet myself. The fullness of my bladder was only worsening the bloating and aching in my stomach.

When I finally got home, I threw my clothes off and jumped into my pyjamas. Ahhhh the relief.

Then I spent the evening googling OHSS symptoms:
1. Bloating (tick)
2. Nausea (tick)
3. Clothes feeling tight (TICK)
4. Thirst (tick)
5. Diarrhea (did I mention that?)

Yep, definitely got a touch of that then. Great, I hope it wears off soon.

24/8/13 progesterone suppositories

Thank god for the weekend!

The last few days have been awkward. On Thursday, I was finding it soooo difficult to get into any of my work clothes, I had to work from home. I made up some lame excuse to my work colleagues and hid in my track suit all day. Bliss.

On Friday, I thought I’d better make an effort to go into the office before people started to question my absence. I managed to find a dress that happens to have some gathering across the tummy which allows for abit of expansion. Perfect!

Hmmmm, not.

Despite the extra space for my bloated belly, the damn thing still cut right into my lower abdomen every time I sat at my desk. So I spent all day shifting in my chair again. Harrumph.

Still thirsty all the time, and the diarrhea, oh the diarrhea… It is constant, and wreaking havoc with my suppositories. So I’m ecstatic to finally get out of the confines of the office for 4 days.

The next time I’m due into the office again is test day. Gulp.

I’m not looking forward to test day. Last cycle I couldn’t wait for it to come. I was counting down the days. Every hour seemed like a week.

But this time I feel different. I am absolutely convinced this cycle hasn’t worked.

This has only been reinforced by the absence of spotting the past few days. In both of my successful cycles I started spotting from implantation bleeding about 5-6 days before my test. This time around there has been no spotting at all.

Therefore, I am dreading the test, because I fully expect it only to confirm my suspicions.

I suppose on the plus side, I will be able to stop the progesterone and my OHSS should disappear, so I’ll be able to wear something without an elasticated waist again. But of course I’d gladly swap that for a very fat, uncomfortable, nausea and diarrhea laden pregnancy.

But for now, I shall satisfy myself with a trip to London to meet a friend from America, and a belated birthday meal with my husband.

4 Responses to “IVF Diary 2 – 2 week wait”

  1. stephaniearsoska October 18, 2013 at 9:22 am #

    Gosh it sounds awful. I had no idea it was so physically unpleasant. Good for you for writing about it, this will be helpful to a lot of women.

  2. Jaime Oliver October 18, 2013 at 10:08 am #

    oh my goodness what a nightmare, feeling that unwell i do hope things improved honey x

  3. Victoria Welton (@VicWelton) October 19, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

    Another fascinating read. I never realised about the bloating – I hope I never have to go through this but at least – thanks to you – I know what I’ll have to go through if I do. I look forward to next weeks instalment. Thanks for linking to PoCoLo x

  4. Emma T (@ETusty) October 19, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

    Let’s hope there’s something positive at the end of all the suffering. Really sounds awful.

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

