My IVF Diary Part 6 – The Pregnancy Test

23 May

Part 6 of my retrospective diary of fertility treatment.

Day 28: progesterone.

Test day.

Up at 4am, mind racing. Not going to test until 7am. It’s too early right now, but can’t sleep at all.
I managed to hold out until 6.30am but was so desperate to pee, I had to take the test then.

BFP!!!!!!! (Big Fat Positive)

The line appeared almost immediately. I was so shocked I ran out of the bathroom without my trousers on into the bedroom, thrust the light on and shoved the test up Ben’s nose shouting

“There’s a line there right? You can see a line? I’m not imagining it? I’ve never seen a line before!”

He squinted, smirked, and said “Yep, there is definitely a line there. Well done girl you’ve done it”.

20130523-190019.jpg

At this point, Oscar appeared from his bedroom and said “Mummy, what are you doing?”

“Ermmm…. …..oh, sorry Oscar mummy had to pee really badly.”

We got him up, I ran downstairs and immediately phoned my mum and texted my wonderful friend. I then somehow managed to get dressed for work and off I went.

The morning flew by in a flurry of congratulations from family and friends and a rather intense process workshop. God I did not want to be there, I wanted to be running around the building naked, screaming, “it’s worked, it’s worked!”

Then afternoon, disaster struck. I went to the loo for my 20th pee of the day and found a smear of red blood on the toilet paper. Oh great, just what I need. I was also feeling pretty rough in general, so by 3.30pm, I made my excuses and went home to lie down. Fortunately the blood disappeared completely and the sickness passed. Must have been a dodgy lunch.

Last thing to do that day was email the result to the hospital, email the consultant to request another prescription of progesterone, and to book my 6 week scan on 14th march.

Please god hang on until then little one.

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

