It’s all about the love

14 Feb

Today it’s valentines day and I’m really feeling the love.

Why you may ask? Well the big fat bunch of roses I got from my well trained hubby certainly helps, but it’s not the main reason for my dreamy state. No.

You see I’ve been ill a lot recently. It’s not been a great start to the year. Bloody winter bugs have got me both barrels…… Proper slapped me round the face with a wet kipper, duffed me up a bit and shown me the middle finger. But in the face of this misery, what has truly warmed the cockles of my heart, is seeing how caring my dear son has been.

One of the things I found so difficult with having a toddler in the past was the lack of compassion/sensitivity to other people’s feelings. The constant shouts of “mine, mine MINE!”, the snatching, the way he would hurt me and laugh…… I knew he wasn’t being mean. He just wasn’t capable of thinking any other way. But as someone who cares deeply about other people’s feelings and happiness, it irked me. I craved the day my boy would show me he loved me, and sometimes doubted that that day would ever come.

But recently, my boy has made several small gestures that have made my heart blossom. It’s like he’s become the man of the house. His mummy’s protector.

Now, let’s not get carried away. He still has the capacity to be an absolute arse when I’m well – like touching EVERYTHING in the supermarket, throwing melons on top of yoghurts in the trolley, not listening to a word we say, running with knives and scissors (DON’T ask) and ……..well nothing quite tops that last one really.

But, just like his father, he really shines when I’m at my most vulnerable.

This past 6 weeks, when I’ve been at my lowest, he has brought me a lemon squash to drink (granted, he almost smashed every glass in the cupboard in the process), rubbed my aching forehead, insisted his father buys me flowers and chocolates at the supermarket (what a smooth operator), given me kisses when I know he’d rather not, brought me blankets, pillows and his favourite teddy bear and best of all …. Told me he loves me.

He loves me.

It’s three words that I will never tire of hearing.

And know this…… Know this for sure. I love you too my little man.

And my big man too.

Happy valentines day all x

20130214-200147.jpg

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

