Shame on me

12 Feb

Today I am feeling like a bad mummy. So bad I may send myself to the naughty step.

Many years ago, in a moment of temporary amnesia brought on by the early morning rush to get to work, my mum sent me into school without a skirt. Yes, that’s right, naked from the waist down except for a pair of “My Little Pony” pants.

My punishment? First, I was hauled up to the headmistresses office in my horrifying underwear to explain myself. Then, not considered embarrassed enough, I was frog marched to my PE teacher who was teaching an English class to a bunch of students 2 years my senior, and paraded like some sort of circus freak for their amusement before being made to wear a netball skirt all day. Yeah the mental scars are still there.

And now, 25years later, I have bestowed the same fate upon my son…….

I sent him to his pre-school pirates and princesses party in his school uniform.

His punishment? He was made to wear a pair of smelly old pyjama trousers and a 7 year old girls jumper… Oh the shame. Ok, so maybe not in the same realm as my near naked encounter, but I feel shitty about it all the same.

But honestly, in my defense, what is it with school demands these days?

When I was a nipper all those years ago, all my mum had to remember was to get me dressed in the morning. But now, barely a week goes by without the boy’s school sending another list of “requirements”

Last week alone, we were asked to provide “toys beginning with the letter I” for show and tell,(how many toys do you know beginning with I? And NO he is not taking my iPad!) as well as various pieces of junk for their junk art….. kitchen rolls permitted but toilet rolls not allowed…. What’s the difference?

Next it was the now taboo pirate outfit, more junk and an object beginning with “m”.

For the last week of term it is a pyjama party, toys beginning with “n”, and a request to attend nursery to watch him sing in Chinese New Year.

Before Xmas it was an angel outfit.

Seriously, what do they think us working parents do with our time? Perhaps therein lies the problem. I’m one of THOSE. Yes, you heard it. A (whispers) working parent.

Before Christmas, I saw a parent mail from the school Parent’s Association, which began with the words…. “The problem seems to be working parents and their lack of time commitment”. I beg your pardon? The problem? What problem? I felt demonised. As if being a working parent is suddenly a problem!

Being a working parent is a necessary fact of life. In my case, it’s the only way to pay the bills and also maintain an ounce of sanity. I suspect many others feel the same. We shouldn’t be viewed as a “problem” to be dealt with, we should be accepted as a legitimate part of the parent community.

But juggling work and motherhood is hard for my chaotic brain, so I could really do without the additional stress of being a PA to my son.

So come on school, how about you cut this working mum some slack and provide your own junk/ fancy dress costumes, and I’ll focus real hard on not sending him out in just his pants.

Thanks.

20130212-201450.jpg

2 Responses to “Shame on me”

  1. Laura February 13, 2013 at 10:49 am #

    Hehe this made is giggle! You echo ALOT of parents that ring us up regarding last minute fancy dress days, demanding good costumes and the pressure to get a good one (that you don’t want to pay a fortune for) A lovely piece 🙂

    • ferreroroche123 February 13, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

      Thanks very much for the kind words Laura. I’m glad it made you laugh. I’m not much of a creative so I am always that person searching for cheap fancy dress costumes with a few days notice!

      And I still have the pirate costume I forgot to put on him! Doh!

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

