Wednesday bloody Wednesday

30 Jan

I know you all like to read my upbeat posts, where I kindly let you laugh at my calamatous life.

And I promise I will write another post just like that soon, but not today. No, today I am really hacked off.

I’m not gonna lie, I hate Wednesdays. I seriously do.

Wednesdays are the new Mondays at chez Roche.

Why? Because apart from the fact that they sit in the middle of the week full of indecision about which side of the fence to sit on (am I the end of the beginning of the week, or the beginning of the end?), they are always just hard work.

And today has been a rough one.

It started particularly badly at 6.30am when hubby woke me up for my first commute into the office of the week. I normally don’t react well to being woken up, but today I could swear I had been hit by a 20 tonne truck. No, make that a tanker, yes a tanker, that had hit me, then run me over, then reversed back again just to make sure. Alright I’m getting carried away, but you get the picture. I felt battered.

Note to self: Do not take drowsy piriteze the night before a day in the office. It’s not clever and it ain’t pretty.

Once I drag my sorry arse out of bed and down the stairs, I am confronted by whingey, whiney son. He hates Wednesdays too, because they are his transition day. The day he swaps from the nice, short hours with his favourite childminder, to the harder, longer hours at his other childminder while I am in the office. So he’s always uncooperative and dare I say it, intolerable at this time of the week.

Spotting the potential for a fractious exchange, I shout my goodbyes and leg it out the front door to start my long and tedious drive into Frimley.

Traffic this morning is a biatch. It’s raining, windy and everyone has lost the ability to drive. I pin my eyes open,  push through the tiredness and eventually arrive at the office 30 minutes late.

Without going into detail, what followed was not a great day at work. It didn’t turn out as I expected and there were some tears.

I won’t tell you why, it’s not important, but by the time I made my way home, I was feeling embarassed, self pitiful and ill to boot.

Yes, tiredness had now given way to full scale cold type thing. Exactly 4 weeks after my son so generously gave me the flu, he’s now sharing his latest virus with me and I’m popping paracetamol like Smarties.

A small number of people will know why this is agitating me so much, but the rest of you feel free to just think I’m being a frightful grump when I’m unwell. It’s ok, I am.

Anyway, when I collected dear son this evening, he was in no mood to pity my ailments. As punishment for leaving him with demonic childminder (she’s lovely really), he proceeded to sulk, cry and generally misbehave until I could take no more. So, after an hour of shouting and squabbling, I packed the little sod off to bed early feeling utterly shameful for being so beastly to him.

And now here I sit, coughing, spluttering and generally licking my wounds, glad that another miserable Wednesday is done.

I realise this post is not a riotous read, and I’m sorry about that. But I just needed to get this feeling of sorrow out of my head.

And tomorrow I will wake up, have a word with myself, and quietly get on with the rest of my week.

Until then, cheer me up with a few jokes would you? Oh, and send biscuits.

Thanks xxxx

2 Responses to “Wednesday bloody Wednesday”

  1. Jenny January 31, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

    I’m sorry your day was so trying!! Does it make you feel better to know that I took an Ambien after midnight b/c I couldn’t sleep (idiot) and spent the morning in a drugged haze?! Surely Child Welfare should do something about me… 😉 Pour yourself a stiff drink. Tomorrow will be better!!

    • ferreroroche123 February 1, 2013 at 8:12 am #

      Oh yes, I feel much better about that. Sadly Thursday was rubbish too as I now have flu type virus for 2nd time in 4 weeks. Spent the day drugged up with temperature pushing 40 degrees! Someone is testing me.

Leave a Reply

Dinky and Me

I am mum to Dinky who is awesome- she also has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder-PDA, ADHD and Sensory integration difficulties

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

She Said That, He Said This

There are always two sides to every story. By @Pols80 and @adadcalledspen

LearnerMother

(and other stories)

Misadventures in Babymaking

The Painfully Honest Chronicles of Two Women's Long Road to a Baby Bump

upyoursginaford

treasure EVERY moment? really?

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

